It all started with Karaoke

This! Is! So! Cool!

spinweaverbarbara

As Karl Lagerfeld has said, “Some things never go out of fashion in the world of fashion: jeans, the white shirt, and the Chanel jacket.”

Ahh, the Chanel Jacket.  It’s classic, reported to be comfortable and easy to wear, and I have been dreaming of owning one for years.  This is the year I am going to make it a reality, and sew a Chanel-style jacket out of my own handwoven fabric.

This is really going to be a long-term project that I started over a year ago.  I examined the tweed fabrics in the Linton Tweeds catalogue.  I searched the internet and looked at examples of Chanel jackets.  I knew I wanted to create a unique tweed fabric.

This is where it all began.  My fabric started with a ½ pound of fibre from Louet, called Karaoke in the Parrotfish colourway, in mainly greens and pinks,  50% Soysilk / 50%…

View original post 373 more words

Leave a Reply

